DIGITAL FREE TOUR
The “Architecture by the river” tour is a FREE TOUR.
This Digital Tour we offer is 100% free.
We want you to know how our tours work and have fun learning more about the beautiful city of Lisbon.
We want you to feel at home and enjoy a stroll and a trip through the riverside, the charms of this area of the city by the Tagus.
- starting point
- PLACE 1
The Power Plant – Central Tagus is the old Electricity Museum and presents in its spaces, the past, the present and the future of Energies, in a concept of Museum of Science and Industrial Archeology, where side by side thematic and experimental exhibitions, with the most varied cultural and business events. Its building develops on the perimeter of the former thermoelectric power station – Central Tagus, which illuminated the city of Lisbon for over four decades.
The initial opening of this Museum took place in 1990, still as a Museum of Electricity. After ten years, it underwent a new period of rehabilitation of its buildings and equipment, to reopen to the public in 2006.
Today, for its cultural and multidisciplinary aspect, the visitor can enjoy various events; from the permanent exhibition of the Museum, where it shows and explains through the original machinery of the old Tagus Central its mode of operation and working environment, to temporary exhibitions of great diversity (photography, sculpture, painting, … ) passing through didactic and more playful spaces dealing with the theme of energies, such as pedagogical games, or solar energy shows abroad, theater, concerts, conferences, etc.
The whole that constitutes the Central Tagus represents a former Thermoelectric Power Station that supplied electricity to Lisbon and its region. It is a unique building in the architectural panorama of Lisbon, and one of the most beautiful examples of industrial architecture of the first half of the twentieth century in Portugal.
The Tagus Central was built between 1908 and 1951, knowing during this period several expansion phases. Its structure follows the type of western brick-clad iron architecture, which configures and decorates the façades in artistic styles ranging from new art in its older bodies (low-pressure building) to classicism in the most contemporary. (high pressure building). With the expansion of the plant were acquired over the years land and other buildings adjacent to the plant itself, becoming today the large industrial complex with various cultural purposes always having as its backdrop the Tagus River that gave it the name.
Due to its state of conservation, between 2001 and 2005 the Museum underwent restoration work to consolidate its structure, treat its facades and interior machinery and, with a new museum project, became what is visible today.
- PLACE 2
The MAAT – Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology is a museum of contemporary art in Lisbon, Portugal that crosses three areas in a space for debate, discovery, critical thinking and international dialogue.
It is situated in the Belém area, next to the Tagus River, on land conquered by Lisbon and the Tagus River in the late 19th century.
This area is characterized by its relationship with the river by one of the most beautiful areas of the city and with a special light.
It opened in 2018 with a project by British architect Amanda Levete.
The MAAT – Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology reflects the ambition to present national and international exhibitions with the contribution of contemporary artists, architects and thinkers, allowing to reflect on major current themes and trends.
On October 5, 2016 the new building was opened with a large work created by French artist Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster specifically for this space.
The diversity of spaces make it an important point in the city’s cultural itinerary, a proposal designed for all audiences, for all ages.
The interior of MAAT
The interior of the building comprises 4 exhibition spaces totaling about 3,000 square meters:
- Oval Gallery
- Main Gallery
- Video Room
- Project Room
The Oval Gallery is the first exhibition area, with 800 square meters, along a curve, offering a path through the interior of the building and its special projects.
The Main Gallery is about 1,000 square meters and is located on the lower floor of the building. It is a versatile space that, depending on the programming, can be presented as a single unit or can be configured in several spaces.
The Project Room and Video Room are two rooms for the presentation of projects in film or video, installations, among other media.
MAAT covers an area of 38 thousand square meters.
Address: Fundação EDP , Av. Brasília, Central Tejo, Belém, 1300-598 Lisbon
Coordinates: Latitude 38º41’44.52 N . Longitude 9º11’44.30 W
Open to the public from 11am to 7pm.
Closed: 3rd and 25th December, 1st January and 1st May. Exceptionally, on December 24th and January 31st, the museum will close at 3 p.m.
5 € Entrance Central
5 € Entrance MAAT
9 € Entrance: Central + MAAT
(the ticket gives access to all exihibitions in both buildings.)
50% DISCOUNTS – ENTRANCE FOR*:
Students (> de 18 years old)
+ 64 anos
Grups (mínimum 10 people)
Clients com turistic train CP Ticket – valid until 31 dezembro 2017
Cartão Circuitos Ciência Viva
50% DISCOUNT – WORKSHOPS AND TOURS FOR:
Students, Unempleyed, 64 +, Membrs MAAT, Children until 10 years old can do free tours.
How to get there:
Buss: 728, 714, 727, 729, 751
Train: Linha de Cascais, Estação de Belém
Boat: Estação Fluvial de Belém
- PLACE 3
The National Coach Museum has the world’s largest collection of royal coaches and coaches from the 16th to the 19th century. The museum was created in 1905 in the former Belém Royal Palace Picadero in Lisbon and is today made up of two buildings: the old Belém Palace Picadier (Afonso de Albuquerque Square) and the new building in front (Av. India), opened in 2015.
The museum has a unique collection of around 9 000 objects in the world, including predominantly gala or stately vehicles, some traveling and sightseeing, from the 16th to 19th centuries, and cavalry accessories. It has been the most visited national museum in Portugal, with 332,106 visitors in 2017. The new building, which houses most of the collections, is a protection of Paulo Mendes da Rocha (Pritzker Prize 2006) in consortium with Ricardo Bak Gordon and Engineer Rui Furtado.
The Project for the New Coach Museum National Building was launched in 2008 to coincide with the inauguration of the Centenary of the Republic celebrations in 2010. With the first stone laid on 1 February 2010 and inaugurated on 23 In May 2015, the Project was signed by Brazilian architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha (Pritzker Prize 2006) in a consortium with Portuguese architect Ricardo Bak Gordon and Engineer Rui Furtado. Despite the beauty and charm of the Royal Belém Picadeiro, the need to increase the Museum’s exhibition area and create new technical infrastructures and support services has always been pressing. Thus, after 110 years of operation in the Old Riding Station, the Museum now occupies an area where the former Army General Offices used to be.
The Coach Museum building emerged in Bethlehem as a cultural facility but also as a public place (Back Gordon). In the words of Paulo Mendes da Rocha “the museum has no door and is related to all sides”; the real project is not the building of the museum, but the fact that it, through the “annex”, sews the city’s mesh and highlights the “pavilion” as a great treasure (a 132m x 48m x 12m cobblestone) floor .
With a gross floor area of 15,177m2, a new construction houses two buildings interconnected by an aerial walkway: the “Exhibition Pavilion” and the “Annex Building”. The “Exhibition Pavilion”, located on the first floor, consists of two large side galleries housing the permanent exhibition and a central nave for various functions; devoid of any decoration presented on a broad ceiling, a continuous floor of smoothed concrete and as white walls punctuated by gaps or showcases.
The “Annex Building” includes an administrative area, a catering area and an auditorium. For the New Building were designed exterior spaces for Exhibitions, a Conservation and Reservation Workshop, a Library, an area for the Educational Service, an Auditorium, a Shop, a Restoration area and a Museum Square: an open space which is also busy in a place of public leisure and walking. Also worth mentioning is a pedestrian and cycle path that follows the façade facing the Afonso de Albuquerque Garden, from Rua da Junqueira to the Belém river station.
Conclusion year: 2018.
Address: Av. da Índia 136, 1300-004 Lisboa
10:00 – 18:00 (thursday to sunday)
5:30 pm – Museu Nacional dos Coches 17:30 – Picadeiro Real
Shops* – 5:45 pm.
Mondays, January 1st, May 1st, Easter Sunday, June 13th, December 24th and 25th.
Note: Picadeiro Real closes at lunchtime from 12:30 am to 2 pm.
Ticket Museu Nacional dos Coches – 8€
Ticket Picadeiro Real (Museu Nacional dos Coches)- 4€
Ticket Coches (Picadeiro Real e MNC)- 10€
Ticket Calçada Real (Palácio Nacional da Ajuda e MNC)- 12€How to get there:
bus : 28, 714, 727, 729, 751
tram: 15train: Linha de Cascais (Estação de Belém)
boat – Estação Fluvial de Belém
- PLACE 4
Start of construction: 1514
Height: 30 m
Architectural style: Manueline style
Elevation: 6 m
Belém Tower was strategically built on the north bank of the Tagus River, between 1514 and 1520, in defense of the Lisbon bar. It is one of the architectural jewels of the reign of King Manuel I.
In the architectural ensemble we can separate two distinct bodies, models of military architecture: the medieval keep and the modern bulwark which, with two levels for artillery fire, allowed a longer range, shallow and ricochet shooting over the water.
The Belém Tower is a cultural reference, a symbol of the specificity of the country that passes through privileged dialogue with other cultures and civilizations. Guardian of our Individuality and Universality, this status was confirmed when, in 1983, it was classified by UNESCO as a “Cultural Heritage of All Humanity”.
Address: Av. Brasília, 1400-038 Lisbon
October to April – From 10h00 to 17h30 (last entry at 17h00)
May to September – From 10h00 to 18h30 (last entry at 17h00)
Closed: Mondays and 1st January, Easter Sunday, 1st May, 13th June and 25th December
Entrance price: 9 € adult / 5 € child
- PLACE 5
“Pastel de Natal” or custard tarts are one of the most popular sweet specialty of Portuguese gastronomy.
Although cream puffs can be enjoyed in many cafes and pastries, the original recipe is an exclusive secret of the Belém Pastéis Factory in Lisbon (the only place whose pastries should be named Belém pastries). There, traditionally, the pastries are still eaten hot, sprinkled with powdered sugar and cinnamon.
Pastel de Belém was elected in 2011 one of the 7 Wonders of Portuguese Gastronomy.
HOW IT ALL BEGAN…
In 1837, in Belém, near the Jeronimos Monastery, in an attempt to make a living, the clerics of the monastery put up some cream puffs for sale. At that time, Belém and Lisboa were two distinct locations with access secured by steamboats. The presence of the Jeronimos Monastery and Belém Tower attracted countless tourists who contributed to spread the Belém pastels.
Following the liberal revolution of 1820, in 1834 the monastery closed. The convent’s confectioner decided to sell the recipe to the Portuguese businessman from Brazil Domingos Rafael Alves, continuing to this day in the possession of his descendants.
Initially, the pastries were offered for sale at a sugar refinery near the Jeronimos Monastery. In 1837 the premises were inaugurated in an annex, then transformed into a pastry shop, “The Old Confectionery of Belém”. Both the original recipe and the name “Pastéis de Belém” are patented.
The Secret Workshop at the Belém Pastry Factory holds the old secret recipe for making and preparing the true custard tarts – the Belém Pastries. take an oath on how they pledge not to disclose the recipe.
Where to eat: Belém Pastry Factory
Address: R. de Belém 84 92, 1300-085 Lisbon
Schedule: Every day from 08 a.m to 11 p.m
Price: € 1.20 / pastel
SEE VIDEOS HERE
TOUR “TURN BY TURN”!
This Tour is available in Turn By Turn mode in real time on Google Maps! Open anytime and bookmark in your own app! Easier, more immersive and above all greener!